Washington University School of Medicine

Home > About Us > Organizational Structure

Organizational Structure

The Department of Neurology's academic structure is provided by several overlapping units:

Clinical responsibility is divided among the Divisions of:

To integrate clinical, research, and teaching activities within specific key areas, the department has created a set of eighteen academic sections. Consistent with the spirit of collaboration that pervades Washington University School of Medicine (WUSM), many Neurology faculty belong to more than one section, and sections often include faculty based in other departments. In addition, many Neurology faculty hold joint appointments in other clinical or basic departments.
Departmental academic units are especially important for the department's training mission, as they provide built-in opportunities for participation in advanced clinical or basic research during residency elective time or post-residency research fellowships.

Members of the faculty are active in interdepartmental PhD or MD/PhD training programs, such as the Washington University Program in Neuroscience. The department maintains, on average, about 10 graduate students studying for PhD or MD/PhD degrees in laboratories directed by Neurology faculty members.

Research efforts are also coordinated by two research centers: the Hope Center for Neurological Disorders and the Knight Alzheimer's Disease Research Center (ADRC). Institutional support for neuroscience research is additionally provided by two endowed research centers at WUSM, the McDonnell Center for Higher Brain Function, and the McDonnell Center for Cellular and Molecular Neurobiology. The department is an active participant in an annual neuroscience retreat, sponsored by these two McDonnell Centers.

WebSanity Top Secret